Finding Blogs Online

Tonight I had the honour of discussing social media with the great group of women who belong to the Victoria, BC chapter of e-Women.

My best analogy for social networking was doing what they already did so well in that room: gave each other leads, introduced each other to new members, and built their networks based on needs, knowledge and expertise.

If you are a woman in business, in a job, or looking for connections, look for an e-Women chapter near you. I was very impressed.

I promised I’d post a couple of great tools for finding blogs of interest. Here they are:

Technorati describes itself as “the leading blog search engine and most comprehensive source of information on the blogosphere…we index more than 1.5 million new blog posts in real time and introduce millions of readers to blog and social media content.” This is a great tool to search for the topics you are interested in.

Google Reader is another great way to search for blogs, and it allows you to bookmark or subscribe to your favourites. Rather than having to sort through tons of bookmarks in my Internet browser, I have them all in Google Reader and I can read all my fave blogs at once.

There are lots more tools – please feel free to post your favourites. If you were at the talk tonight and have any questions, post them here and I promise to answer.

2 Responses to “Finding Blogs Online”


  1. 1 Avril Matthews February 8, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Great blog Maggie. Would love to hear more about blog searchability and you have my interest peaked with the ewomen group.
    Avril

  2. 2 Manasa Majumdar August 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I
    might check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.


Leave a Reply

